MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 21ST JUNE, 2020 COMMENCING 3.00 P.M. VIA ZOOM

PRESENT:

COUNCILLORS P. KENNEDY CATHAOIRLEACH, T. ANNESLEY, J. BEHAN, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, M. CREAN, A. CRONIN, S. CULLEN, G. DUNNE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, T. FORTUNE, P. GLENNON, M. KAVANAGH, P. LEONARD, G. MCMANUS, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, M. MURPHY, J. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, P. O'BRIEN, R. O'CONNOR, G. O'NEILL, L. SCOTT, J. SNELL, E. TIMMINS, G. WALSH AND I. WINTERS.

APOLOGIES

CLLR. E. DOYLE

IN ATTENDANCE:

MR. F. CURRAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE

MR. B. GLEESON, HEAD OF FINANCE

MS. L. GALLAGHER, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MR. M. NICHOLSON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MS. S. WALSH, SENIOR PLANNER

MS. B. KILKENNY, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MR. C. LAVERY, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MS. D. KENNEDY, LAW AGENT

MS. H. DENNEHY, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER

MS. T. O'BRIEN. SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER

MS. J. CARROLL, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER

MR. M. DEVEREUX, SENIOR ENGINEER

MS. C. WRIGHT, GENEALOGIST

MS. R. DENNISON, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER

MS. H. PURCELL, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER

MS. T. BYRNE, ASSISTANT STAFF OFFICER

FORMER MINISTER ANDREW DOYLE

ITEM NO. 1

Election of the Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act, 2001)

Prior to calling for nominations for the position of the Cathaoirleach, Cllr. P. Kennedy, outgoing Cathaoirleach, said that it has been a year like no other, a year of worry, change, solitude and difficulty. It was a challenge we all met and accepted the change to the world and as a Council had to adapt. We adjusted to online meetings, virtual discussions and learned to represent those who elected us in new ways. Looking back over the year Cllr. Kennedy highlighted a number of achievements:

- Wicklow County Council were 2nd highest local authority in 2020 for own builds with the completion of 230 units
- 1050 local allocations have taken place and large scale housing schemes have been completed in Rathdrum, Arklow, Wicklow, Rathnew, Baltinglass, Bray, Dunlavin and Kilmacanogue
- The Housing and Disability Steering Group are currently preparing a new County Wicklow Strategy Plan for people with disabilities
- The new Customer Care Hub opened

He thanked all the Elected Members, the Chief Executive and the staff of Wicklow County Council for their help and support and also Ms. L. Gallagher, Director of Services for all her help, support and guidance ensuring every aspect of the year ran smoothly. He also thanked Cllr. S. Cullen, Leas-Cathaoirleach for his support throughout the year.

Elected members and the Chief Executive collectively paid tribute to Cllr. P. Kennedy on the exemplary manner in which he carried out his duties as Cathaoirleach. It was acknowledged that meetings were carried out in a fair minded manner and that he was always fair, open and approachable. The Chief Executive and Elected Members wished him well for the future.

Cllr. P. Kennedy called for nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

- 1. Cllr. I. Winters proposed Cllr. S. Cullen, which was seconded by Cllr. P. Fitzgerald
- 2. Cllr. T. Fortune proposed Cllr. M. Crean, which was seconded by Cllr. M. Kavanagh

Following a roll call, Cllr. S. Cullen was elected as Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council by a margin of: 20 votes for Cllr. S. Cullen, 10 votes for Cllr. M. Crean, 1 not present and 1 abstention viz:

CLLR S. CULLEN	CLLRS. T. ANNESLEY, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, S.
(20)	CULLEN, G. DUNNE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, P.
	GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, M. MURPHY, J. NEARY, P.
	O'BRIEN, E. TIMMINS, G.WALSH AND I. WINTERS.
CLLR. M. CREAN	CLLRS. J. BEHAN, M. CREAN, T. FORTUNE, M. KAVANAGH, P. LEONARD, G.
(10)	MCMANUS, D. O'BRIEN R. O'CONNOR, L. SCOTT, AND J. SNELL
NOT PRESENT (1)	CLLR. E. DOYLE
ABSTAINED (1)	CLLR. G. O'NEILL

Before calling for nominations for Leas Cathaoirleach, the newly elected Cathaoirleach addressed the Council.

He thanked the elected members in electing him to the position of Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council and paid tribute to Cllr. P. Kennedy for his work during his role as Cathaoirleach over the past 12 months. He acknowledged that the experience of the elected members will be invaluable over the coming year as we work through the difficult time to bring our County to the other side of this pandemic.

He outlined the areas he intended to focus on in the year to come:

- Cross-party co-operation dealing with the concerns and challenges faced in County Wicklow
- Asking management to focus on all funding streams available to this council. URDF, RDF or are as, town and village, OPW to name a few that are essential to continuing the good work throughout the county.
- Development of Wicklow, Arklow and Bray Harbour
- Town Centre renewal in conjunction with Town Teams
- Climate Change
- Prioritise housing and continued investment in this area

He concluded by saying he looked forward to working with all members over the next twelve months to achieve all that we can set out together, it is a team effort. He thanked everyone for their support here today.

The Chief Executive and Elected Members joined together in congratulating Cllr. S. Cullen on his election.

ITEM NO. 2

Election of the Leas-Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act, 2001)

The Cathaoirleach called for nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach.

- 1. Cllr. J. Behan proposed Cllr. R. O'Connor, which was seconded by Cllr. P. Leonard
- 2. Cllr. G. Dunne proposed Cllr. T. Annesley, which was seconded by Cllr. S. Bourke.

Following a roll call, Cllr. T. Annesley was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council by a margin of: 20 votes for Cllr. T. Annesley, 11 votes for Cllr. R. O'Connor and 1 not present viz:

CLLR T. ANNESLEY	CLLRS. T. ANNESLEY, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, S.
(20)	CULLEN, G. DUNNE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, P.
	GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, M. MURPHY, P. O'BRIEN,
	J. SNELL, E. TIMMINS, G.WALSH AND I. WINTERS.
CLLR. R.	CLLRS. J. BEHAN, M. CREAN, T. FORTUNE, M. KAVANAGH, P. LEONARD, G.
O'CONNOR	MCMANUS, J. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, R. O'CONNOR, G. O'NEILL, AND L SCOTT
(11)	
NOT PRESENT (1)	CLLR. E. DOYLE

ITEM NO. 3

To agree schedule of ordinary/special meetings for the coming year

It was proposed by Cllr. I. Winters, seconded by Cllr. P. Fitzgerald and agreed to the schedule of ordinary/special meetings for the coming year, as circulated.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

CLLR. SHAY CULLEN	MS. HELEN PURCELL
CATHAOIRLEACH	SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER/
WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL	MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Confirmed at meeting of Wicklow County Council held on Monday the $6^{\rm th}$ September 2021